

The World's Largest Open Access Agricultural & Applied Economics Digital Library

This document is discoverable and free to researchers across the globe due to the work of AgEcon Search.

Help ensure our sustainability.

Give to AgEcon Search

AgEcon Search
http://ageconsearch.umn.edu
aesearch@umn.edu

Papers downloaded from **AgEcon Search** may be used for non-commercial purposes and personal study only. No other use, including posting to another Internet site, is permitted without permission from the copyright owner (not AgEcon Search), or as allowed under the provisions of Fair Use, U.S. Copyright Act, Title 17 U.S.C.

Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting

Northeastern Agricultural and Resource Economics Association Holiday Inn Atlantic City, NJ June 24, 1996

The Annual Business Meeting of the Northeastern Agricultural and Resource Economics Association was called to order at 3:30 p.m. by President Don Epp.

Minutes of the June 19, 1995, meeting were approved as printed and distributed to the membership in Volume 24, Number 2, of the Agricultural and Resource Economics Review.

Secretary-Treasurer's Report

Jim Dunn distributed the membership report, which shows five paying members more than the same time last year. The membership as of June 16, 1996, was 300 regular members, 47 library members, 54 student members, and 28 honorary members, totaling 429 altogether.

Secretary-Treasurer Jim Dunn reported that from the period June 3, 1995, to June 17, 1996, the Association had income of \$25,010.79 and expenses of \$33,003.82. This leaves the checking account balance at \$9,212.69 and the total assets at \$20,076.32. The special account had a balance of \$3,296.02. This year's expenses are higher because the 1994–95 expenses include only one printing of the journal and the 1995–96 expenses include three. The Secretary-Treasurer's report was accepted.

The tax status of the association was discussed. So far we do not have to file, although we are approaching the threshold.

Editor's Report

Editor Linda Lee distributed a written editor's report. In the preceding year, 72 manuscripts were submitted, reflecting a continued increase in submissions. The current acceptance rate is 29%, although this will go up since some of the manuscripts will be resubmitted and ultimately accepted. Linda also presented a summary of response time for manuscripts. Approximately half the submissions and half the acceptances have been from authors within the region. The response to the call for papers for the special issue came mainly from outside the region.

The experiment in electronic publishing has concluded with the printer preferring the old method of paper submissions. We will get a discount nevertheless.

Linda will see about getting the journal listed in the *Journal of Economic Literature*. She is also considering a reciprocal printing of tables of contents with other journals and other methods to increase the visibility of the journal.

Audit Committee

Don Epp reported that the Audit Committee (Ted Alter, Jay Harper, and Steve Ford) has reviewed the financial

records maintained by James Dunn, Secretary-Treasurer. The committee certified that the report Secretary-Treasurer Dunn presented is a true and accurate account of the Association's treasury as of June 17, 1996.

Finance Committee

Julie Caswell reported for the Finance Committee. The committee proposed that no change be made in dues or page charges for the upcoming year. The Association has the ability to spend money for projects that benefit the membership and is looking for such projects.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee reported that Bobby Gempesaw was elected President-Elect, John Halstead was elected Secretary-Treasurer, and Dan Lass and Lois Willett were elected Directors. The committee thanked the candidates who ran but were defeated for their willingness to run and support the Association. The committee did not pair director candidates this year, instead putting them in a pool of four with two to be elected. They recommend that future committees continue this practice.

Program Committee

David Lee reported that the work of the committee is the program we see at the meetings. The membership provides the bulk of the program by submitting papers. Dave thanked Richard Rogers, who headed the Selected Papers Committee, and the remainder of the committee for their work. He also thanked others who helped make the meeting successful, especially Robin Brumfield and the faculty at Rutgers. This year 36 papers were submitted and 30 were accepted.

Executive Committee

Don Epp reported that the Association now has a home page on the World Wide Web, thanks to John Mackenzie. The reunion at the AAEA meetings for northeastern universities will begin next year. The Executive Committee is asking the Membership Committee for more ideas to build membership. The American Agricultural Economics Association and the Southern Agricultural Economics Association are cosponsoring a new journal, which will have an editorial content somewhere between the AJAE and Choices. They have asked the NAREA to

also cosponsor this journal, with no financial commitment from us. We have accepted.

Future Meetings

The 1977 meeting will be somewhere in Massachusetts, June 22–24. Julie Caswell will head the Local Arrangements Committee. So far no site has been chosen. Sites of meetings further in the future include: 1998, New York; 1999, West Virginia; 2000, Rhode Island; 2001, Maine; 2002, Pennsylvania; 2003, Nova Scotia; 2004, New Hampshire; and 2005, Maryland.

Other Business

The winners of the various awards are:

Olan Forker, Honorary Life Member

Bobby Gempesaw, Distinguished Member

Michael Needelman and Mary Jo Kealy, Best Article Award

Parke Wilde of Cornell, Outstanding M.S. Thesis Award

Kleber Machado (Cornell) and Wei Liu (Massachusetts) Thesis of Merit Awards

Chun Feng, Mark Metcalfe, Mona Ray, and Parke Wilde, travel grants

Resolutions Committee

Julie Caswell, on behalf of the Resolutions Committee (herself and Don Epp), offered the following resolution, which was accepted by the membership:

Be it resolved that the Northeastern Agricultural and Resource Economics Association express its sincere appreciation to Dr. Daymon Thatch, Chair of the Department of Agricultural Economics and Marketing, to Robin Brumfield, Local Arrangements Chair, and other members of the faculty and staff at Cook College, Rutgers University, who arranged the facilities for our annual meeting and who extended warm hospitality during our visit to New Jersey. Further be it resolved that the Northeastern Agricultural and Resource Economics Association expresses its appreciation to David Lee, President-Elect, to the Selected Papers Committee, Richard Rogers, Chair, and to the members of the Program Committee for their efforts in organizing an outstanding program for the annual meeting.

President's Comments

Outgoing President Don Epp commented on his year as President and how worthwhile and enjoyable it has been. He thinks there are exciting ideas for the future that should help the Association grow.

Don recognized the outgoing officers: Past President Julie Caswell; Directors Kevin Boyle and Adesoji Adelaja; and Secretary-Treasurer Jim Dunn. He acknowledged the new officers.

With that he passed the imaginary gavel to incoming President David Lee.

David thanked Don for his work as President and moved that the meeting adjourn, which it did at 4:15.

Respectfully submitted,

James W. Dunn Secretary-Treasurer, NAREA