

The World's Largest Open Access Agricultural & Applied Economics Digital Library

# This document is discoverable and free to researchers across the globe due to the work of AgEcon Search.

Help ensure our sustainability.

Give to AgEcon Search

AgEcon Search
<a href="http://ageconsearch.umn.edu">http://ageconsearch.umn.edu</a>
aesearch@umn.edu

Papers downloaded from **AgEcon Search** may be used for non-commercial purposes and personal study only. No other use, including posting to another Internet site, is permitted without permission from the copyright owner (not AgEcon Search), or as allowed under the provisions of Fair Use, U.S. Copyright Act, Title 17 U.S.C.

Vol. 69 No. 4

ISSN 0019-5014

**OCTOBER-DECEMBER** 2014

**INDIAN JOURNAL** OF **AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS** 

**INDIAN SOCIETY OF** AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS, **MUMBAI** 

## THE INDIAN SOCIETY OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS, MUMBAI

# **Aims and Objects:**

To promote the study of social and economic problems of agriculture and rural areas and also to promote technical competence for teaching and research in Agricultural Economics and allied subjects through:

- (a) research in problems of agricultural economics and rural development;
- (b) periodical Conferences and Seminars;
- (c) publication of books, reports, papers or summaries of papers either separately or collectively, or in a periodical which may be issued under the auspices of the Society;
- (d) co-operation with other institutions having similar objects, such as the International Association of Agricultural Economists and the Indian Economic Association, etc.

## **OFFICE-BEARERS FOR THE YEAR 2014**

President:

Dr. C. Ramasamy

*Vice-Presidents*:

Dr. R. Vishwanathan

Dr. Anjani Kumar

Dr. R.S. Sidhu

Dr. Rakesh Singh

Dr. G.P. Reddy

Hon. Secretary and Treasurer

Dr. C.L. Dadhich

Hon. Joint Secretary:

Mrs. Vijaya Venkatesh

President-Elect for the 74th Annual Conference:

Dr. P.K. Joshi

Executive Committee Members:

Dr. Manish Kumar Singh

Dr. S.K. Goyal

Dr. Tarvinder Singh Chahal

Dr. Govind Pal

Dr. Ram Parvesh Singh

Dr. S.K. Chauhan

Dr. S.C. Srivastava

Dr. R.K. Singh

Dr. Sukhpal Singh

Dr. Subhasis Mandal

Dr. Murtuza Khan

Dr. Shivaji Sahebrao Ambhore

Dr. D.V. Subba Rao

Dr. D. Suresh Kumar

Dr. Kartik Prasad Jena

# INDIAN JOURNAL OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS



# (Organ of the Indian Society of Agricultural Economics)

Vol. 69	OCTOBER-DECEMBER 2014						
CONTENTS ARTICLES Pa							
Economic Analysis of Leaf Rust Management by Chemical Controls: Evidence and Implications for Household Coffee Farmers in India			Naraya	459			
How Sensitive is Indian Agriculture to Climate Change?		P.S. Birthal, Digvijay S. Negi, Shiv Kumar, Shaily Aggarwal, A. Suresh, Md. Tajuddin Khan		rwal,	474		
BOOK REVIEW (see next page)			•••	•••	488		
PUBLICATIONS RECEIVED				•••	494		
ECONOM	HESES IN AGRICULTURAL MICS COMPLETED IN SITIES IN INDIA: 2013-2014				498		
ABSTRACT AGRIC	OF PH.D. THESIS IN ULTURAL ECONOMICS				500		
INTERNAT AGRICULT RE-VISITIN THE LI	NFERENCE SYMPOSIUM OF TONAL ASSOCIATION OF TURAL ECONOMISTS (IAAE) ON NG AGRICULTURE POLICIES IN GHT OF GLOBALISATION CE: THE INDIAN CONTEXT - A						
BRIEF REP					501		

ii CONTENTS

				Page
NEWS				504
INDICATIVE OUTLINES OF SUBJECTS SELECTED FOR DISCUSSION AT THE 75TH ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE INDIAN SOCIETY OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS INDEX TO IJAE, Vol. 69, 2014				509 522
BOOK REVIEW		•••	•••	322
Chakravorty, The Price of Land: Sanjoy Acquisition, Conflict and Consequence	M.G.	Chand	rakanth	488

# INDIAN SOCIETY OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS MEMBERS OF THE RESEARCH PROGRAMMES COMMITTEE, 2014

Dr. C. Ramasamy (Ex-officio as President of the Society)

Dr. P.K. Joshi (Ex-officio as President-Elect for the 74th Annual Conference)

Dr. Dinesh K. Marothia (Ex-officio as Chairman of the Editorial Board)

Dr. C.L. Dadhich (Ex-officio as Honorary Secretary and Treasurer of the Society)

Mrs. Vijaya Venkatesh (Ex-officio as Honorary Joint Secretary of the Society)

Dr. P.S. Birthal

Dr. H.P. Singh

Dr. Ranjit Kumar

Dr. C. Hazarika

Dr. H.S. Shylendra

## **EDITORIAL BOARD**

Dr. Dinesh K. Marothia

Dr. N.A. Mujumdar\*

Dr. C.L. Dadhich

Dr. K.R. Ashok

Dr. M.G. Chandrakanth

Dr. Will Martin, U.S.A.

Dr. K. Palanisami

Dr. H.R. Sharma

Dr. Sukhpal Singh

Dr. M.H. Suryanarayana

Prof. Dr. Johan Swinnen, Belgium

Mrs. Vijaya Venkatesh .. Associate Editor

.. Chairman

.. Members

.. Working Editor

.. Editor

All editorial correspondence and articles for publication may kindly be sent to the Editor, Indian Journal of Agricultural Economics, C-104, First Floor, Sadguru Complex I, Near Vagheshwari, Gen. A.K. Vaidya Marg, Goregaon (East), Mumbai - 400 063 (India).

Note:- Individual Membership Fee and Institutional Subscription to the Indian Journal of Agricultural Economics are Rs. 600.00 or US \$ 100.00 and Rs. 1,500.00 or US \$ 250.00 respectively and should be sent to the Hon. Secretary and Treasurer, The Indian Society of Agricultural Economics, C-104, First Floor, Sadguru Complex I, Near Vagheshwari, Gen. A.K. Vaidya Marg, Goregaon (East), Mumbai - 400 063 (India).

The copyright and all rights of reproduction and translation of articles, book reviews and correspondence published in the Indian Journal of Agricultural Economics are reserved by the Society. Application for permission to translate or reproduce any material contained in it should be made to the Honorary Secretary & Treasurer, at the above address.

Telephone: 022-28493723 Fax: 91-022-28493724 email: <u>isae@vsnl.com</u> Website: <u>www.isaeindia.org</u>

# **ANNOUNCING**

## **ISAE FELLOWS**

The Indian Society of Agricultural Economics has instituted ISAE Fellows for their life time contribution in the field of agriculture and rural development in 2010. The honour of Fellow, to be given annually, to an Indian scholar who has made outstanding contribution in the field of agriculture and rural development.

The award will consist of a citation and the designation of Indian Society of Agricultural Economics Fellow. The fellow selection committee will select the Fellow. The maximum number of new fellows in any year would be not more than three members selected from the nominations received by the Fellow Selection Committee. The Fellows Recognition Ceremony will be held as part of the Society's Annual Conferences.

Any ISAE Past Conference President may nominate any living member who has been a member of the Society for minimum 10 years and who has been actively involved with the Society and the age limit is 50 years and above. The Indian Society of Agricultural Economics Fellow Selection Committee is inviting nominations for the 2015 ISAE Fellow Awards. The deadline for submission of nominations and the supporting documentation is July 31, 2015. Nominations received beyond this date will not be entertained. Besides any person who has been subject to official inquiry for any irregularities is not eligible for the Award.

Nominations of President(s) and Conference President(s) (ex- and current) should not be made as they are deemed to be Honorary Fellows.

Nominations should be sent by email before July 31, 2015 to: The Hon. Secretary and Treasurer by Email at: isae@bom7.vsnl.net.in