

The World's Largest Open Access Agricultural & Applied Economics Digital Library

This document is discoverable and free to researchers across the globe due to the work of AgEcon Search.

Help ensure our sustainability.

Give to AgEcon Search

AgEcon Search http://ageconsearch.umn.edu aesearch@umn.edu

Papers downloaded from **AgEcon Search** may be used for non-commercial purposes and personal study only. No other use, including posting to another Internet site, is permitted without permission from the copyright owner (not AgEcon Search), or as allowed under the provisions of Fair Use, U.S. Copyright Act, Title 17 U.S.C.

Vol. 69 No. 2

ISSN 0019-5014

APRIL-JUNE 2014

INDIAN JOURNAL OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS

INDIAN SOCIETY OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS, MUMBAI

THE INDIAN SOCIETY OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS, MUMBAI

Aims and Objects:

To promote the study of social and economic problems of agriculture and rural areas and also to promote technical competence for teaching and research in Agricultural Economics and allied subjects through:

- (a) research in problems of agricultural economics and rural development;
- (b) periodical Conferences and Seminars;
- (c) publication of books, reports, papers or summaries of papers either separately or collectively, or in a periodical which may be issued under the auspices of the Society;
- (d) co-operation with other institutions having similar objects, such as the International Association of Agricultural Economists and the Indian Economic Association, etc.

OFFICE-BEARERS FOR THE YEAR 2014

President:

Dr. C. Ramasamy

Vice-Presidents:

Dr. R. Vishwanathan Dr. Anjani Kumar Dr. R.S. Sidhu Dr. Rakesh Singh Dr. G.P. Reddy

Hon. Secretary and Treasurer

Dr. C.L. Dadhich

Hon. Joint Secretary:

Mrs. Vijaya Venkatesh

President-Elect for the 74th Annual Conference:

Dr. P.K. Joshi

Executive Committee Members:

Dr. Manish Kumar Singh Dr. S.K. Goyal Dr. Tarvinder Singh Chahal Dr. Govind Pal Dr. Ram Parvesh Singh Dr. S.K. Chauhan Dr. S.C. Srivastava Dr. R.K. Singh Dr. Sukhpal Singh Dr. Subhasis Mandal Dr. Murtuza Khan Dr. Shivaji Sahebrao Ambhore Dr. D.V. Subba Rao Dr. D. Suresh Kumar Dr. Kartik Prasad Jena

INDIAN JOURNAL OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS



(Organ of the Indian Society of Agricultural Economics)

Vol. 69	APRIL-JUNE	2014	No. 2
	CONTENTS		
ARTICLES			Page
Agriculture-Inc 'Home 1	lustry Relation and the Question of Market': Towards Closing a Old Debate	Saumya Chakrabarti	183
Agricultural Growth and Economic Convergence in Indian Agriculture		Shiv Kumar, Kamble Ankush Lala and Khyali Ram Chaudhary	211
Foodgrains Production in India – How Serious is the Shortage of Water Supply for Future Growth		Joydeb Sasmal	229
Magnitude and Determinants of Indebtedness among Farmers in Punjab		Sukhpal Singh, Shruti Bhogal and Randeep Singh	243
BOOK REVIE	WS (see next page)		257
PUBLICATIONS RECEIVED			269

CONTENTS

BOOK REVIEWS

Page

Bisaliah, S., Dev, Mahendra S. and Saifullah, Syed	Investment in Indian Agriculture: Macro and Micro Evidences	A. Narayanamoorthy	257
Mujumdar, N.A.	Reinventing Development Economics – Explorations from the Indian Experiment	K. Kanagasabapathy	260
Suman Chandra, K., Suresh Babu, V, and Nath, Pradip Kumar	Agrarian Crisis in India – The Way Out	K.G. Karmakar	263

ii

INDIAN SOCIETY OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS

MEMBERS OF THE RESEARCH PROGRAMMES COMMITTEE, 2014

Dr. C. Ramasamy (*Ex-officio as President of the Society*)
Dr. P.K. Joshi (*Ex-officio as President-Elect for the 74th Annual Conference*)
Dr. Dinesh K. Marothia (*Ex-officio as Chairman of the Editorial Board*)
Dr. C.L. Dadhich (*Ex-officio as Honorary Secretary and Treasurer of the Society*)
Mrs. Vijaya Venkatesh (*Ex-officio as Honorary Joint Secretary of the Society*)
Dr. P.S. Birthal
Dr. H.P. Singh
Dr. C. Hazarika
Dr. H.S. Shylendra

EDITORIAL BOARD

Dr. Dinesh K. Marothia	Chairman
Dr. N.A. Mujumdar*	Editor
Dr. C.L. Dadhich	Working Editor
Dr. K.R. Ashok	Members
Dr. M.G. Chandrakanth	
Dr. Will Martin, U.S.A.	
Dr. K. Palanisami	
Dr. H.R. Sharma	
Dr. Sukhpal Singh	
Dr. M.H. Suryanarayana	
Prof. Dr. Johan Swinnen, Belgium	
Mrs. Vijaya Venkatesh	Associate Editor

All editorial correspondence and articles for publication may kindly be sent to the Editor, Indian Journal of Agricultural Economics, C-104, First Floor, Sadguru Complex I, Near Vagheshwari, Gen. A.K. Vaidya Marg, Goregaon (East), Mumbai - 400 063 (India).

Note:- Individual Membership Fee and Institutional Subscription to the Indian Journal of Agricultural Economics are Rs. 600.00 or US \$ 100.00 and Rs. 1,500.00 or US \$ 250.00 respectively and should be sent to the Hon. Secretary and Treasurer, The Indian Society of Agricultural Economics, C-104, First Floor, Sadguru Complex I, Near Vagheshwari, Gen. A.K. Vaidya Marg, Goregaon (East), Mumbai - 400 063 (India).

The copyright and all rights of reproduction and translation of articles, book reviews and correspondence published in the Indian Journal of Agricultural Economics are reserved by the Society. Application for permission to translate or reproduce any material contained in it should be made to the Honorary Secretary & Treasurer, at the above address.

Telephone: 022-28493723 email: <u>isae@vsnl.com</u> Fax: 91-022-28493724 Website: <u>www.isaeindia.org</u>

*Expired on April 6, 2014

INDIAN JOURNAL OF AGRICULTURAL ECONOMICS

Dr. S.R. Sen Prize Award for the Best Book on Agricultural Economics and Rural Development Published in 2011-2012

The Indian Society of Agricultural Economics has instituted in 1996, under Dr. S.R. Sen Endowment Fund Prize Award Scheme, a biennial prize award of Rs.15,000/for the best book/monograph on Agricultural Economics and Rural Development published by Indian authors under 45 years of age as on the date of publication of the book(s). Books that have made significant original contribution to theoretical and empirical studies in the field of agricultural economics and rural development are considered for the award. Edited books by authors are not considered for the Prize Award. The selection of the best book for prize award is done by a Screening Committee and the Jury constituted for the purpose.

Books published by Indian authors during the calendar year 2011-2012 are being considered for the **Ninth Biennial Prize Award.**

PROFESSOR RAMESH CHANDRA AGRAWAL PRIZE ENDOWMENT AWARD

The Indian Society of Agricultural Economics has instituted Professor Ramesh Chandra Agrawal Award of Excellence for contribution to Agricultural Economics in 2004. The award, to be given biennially, is given to an Indian scholar who has made significant outstanding contributions to theoretical or empirical studies in the field of Agricultural Economics.

The award will consist of a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 25,000.

A four member jury of eminent scholars will select the awardee. The name of the fifth awardee will be announced and the presentation will take place at the 74th Annual Conference of the Indian Society of Agricultural Economics to be held in December 2014.

The Indian Society of Agricultural Economics will administer the award.

Members of the Society and scholars in the field may take nominations with a short resume of the nominee's work including a list of important publications. Nominations should be sent before September 15, 2014 to:

The Honorary Secretary and Treasurer, The Indian Society of Agricultural Economics, C-104, First Floor, Sadguru Complex I, Near Vagheshwari, Gen. A.K. Vaidya Marg, Goregaon (East), Mumbai - 400 063 Email: <u>isae@bom7.vsnl.net.in</u>