AgEcon Search

AgEcon Search >
       eJADE: electronic Journal of Agricultural and Development Economics >
          Volume 04, Issue 1, 2007 >

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://purl.umn.edu/112596

Title: Rural Income Generating Activities in Developing Countries: Re-assessing the Evidence
Authors: Carletto, Gero
Covarrubias, Katia
Davis, Benjamin
Krausova, Marika
Stamoulis, Kostas G.
Winters, Paul C.
Zezza, Alberto
Authors (Email): Carletto, Gero (gcarletto@worldbank.org)
Covarrubias, Katia (Katia.Covarrubias@fao.org)
Davis, Benjamin (Benjamin.Davis@fao.org)
Krausova, Marika (mkrausova@worldbank.org)
Stamoulis, Kostas (Kostas.Stamoulis@fao.org)
Winters, Paul (winters@american.edu)
Zezza, Alberto (Alberto.Zezza@fao.org)
Keywords: rural economy
non-farm activities
income inequality
income diversification
JEL Codes: O12
O18
R23
Issue Date: 2007
Abstract: This paper contributes to the understanding of the dynamics of developing country rural labour markets by re-evaluating the available evidence on the levels and composition of income sources adopted by rural households in order to understand the relationship between the various economic activities taking place in rural areas and their implications for economic growth and poverty reduction. This is achieved in two parts: First, the paper introduces the Rural Income Generating Activities (RIGA) database, a newly constructed FAO repository of household survey data, income measures and cross-country comparable indicators. Second, using the RIGA database, the paper undertakes a descriptive analysis of the agricultural and non-agricultural sectors of the rural economy, assessing the importance of rural non-farm activities within the complex income strategies adopted by rural households in developing countries and their relationship to poverty and inequality.
URI: http://purl.umn.edu/112596
Institution/Association: eJADE: electronic Journal of Agricultural and Development Economics>Volume 04, Issue 1, 2007
Total Pages: 48
From Page: 146
To Page: 193
Collections:Volume 04, Issue 1, 2007

Files in This Item:

File Description SizeFormat
ai195e00.pdf290KbPDFView/Open
Recommend this item

All items in AgEcon Search are protected by copyright.

 

 

Brought to you by the University of Minnesota Department of Applied Economics and the University of Minnesota Libraries with cooperation from the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association.

All papers are in Acrobat (.pdf) format. Get Adobe Reader

Contact Us

Powered by: